What next?

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
Honda

What next?

Post by Honda »

Hi, I am the proud owner of a combat wombat! I have some experience taking hodakas apart, and fixing what needs fixing. I have a number of road toads, wombats, early dirt squirts, and have worked on all without incident. I generally leave the engine work to Roger L, who I dearly love to talk to about all manner of things. But, and of course there is a but or I wouldn't be writing, the combat wombat is in many pieces, in many boxes. I have all of the manuals, have read what I can find on the internet, but this is the first bike that I can take in any direction I desire. The engine will of course be mailed to Ohio. Any suggestions as to how else to proceed? I have obtained a HT3 pipe from SH. Keep the stock forks? shocks? Powder coat vs paint. Porting? Stock carb? And where to begin outside of the engine? Without the direction of a prior disassembly, reassembly is daunting. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. And I was thinking of adding lights, since I never seem to know or want to stop when the sun goes down! Thanks.
BrianZ

Re: What next?

Post by BrianZ »

Deciding on what modifications you would like really depends on what you intend to do with the bike. If you want a good reliable trail bike, the CW will work quite well in it's stock form, but upgrading the motor to a reed valve will make it more enjoyable. If you want to compete with the bike a suspension upgrade is a good place to start. For vintage motocross, anything goes depending on the class you intend to enter. Some classes may require the bike to retain piston port induction (no reed valve). You may also want to consider an electronic ignition for reliability and perhaps reduce the chances of plug fouling.

Brian
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

The HT3 pipe is not legal in the AHRMA Classic 125cc Class unfortunately. Sportsman 100cc and 125cc Class yes but not in the Classic class.
Paul
Pep