crank vent

The main Page for the Hodaka Club Discussion Group
mjean22140

crank vent

Post by mjean22140 »

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this post but have a question that I hope someone can help with. I have a Combat Wombat that I just finished restoring and ran for the first time last year. I had the motor completely rebuilt by Roger Lappiatt about 6 or 7 years ago, maybe longer... but never ran it until last summer. It fired on the first kick an appeared to run fine apart from some needed carb adjustment. I think I have a total of maybe 20-30 minutes run time on it right now. What I'm noticing is that after warming it up and taking a lap or two around my house I'm starting to see a bit of frothy crank oil escaping from the crank breather. My first thought was that I may have over filled the crank a bit so I drained it and refilled it with correct amount as stated in the manual. After running it for a few more minutes and a couple laps I see the same results.

I sent an email to Roger to see if he had any thoughts but never heard back from him.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Is this just a possible break-in issue???

Thanks

Mike
BrianZ

Re: crank vent

Post by BrianZ »

What brand of oil are you running? Does the level show correct on the dipstick?

Brian
socalhodaka

Post by socalhodaka »

non-detergent oil.
Bullfrog
Location: Oregon, 12 miles from the center of the Hodaka Universe(Athena)

Post by Bullfrog »

An "in the bike" transmission oil drain and replace calls for 16 oz of new oil since you can't drain all the old oil out. So, if you drained, then added 20 oz -- you ended up with about 4 oz of over-fill.

While you need to keep an ear tuned for symptoms of a leaking crankshaft seal (detonation, accelerating idle, engine "run on" (keeps running for awhile after you turn it off)) - it is quite possible that the following three things are causing your problem: